Skip to content

Dear Newtown, Connecticut: Merry Christmas.

December 25, 2012

The poem below (“6 to 5“) had beginnings before endings. My three little daughters came home from school on 12/14/2012 and I had to explain to them why birth and death happen on the same day. December 14 was my birthday, and there was no celebration. But there were hugs and tears and this poem:

Image

A poem dedicated to Sandy Hook

Merry Christmas, Newtown. A small measure of the heartache you must feel, I wrote in this poem. For you. For myself. Making sense of the talk I’d need to have later with these sisters–my 3 little girls. In the hours before they came home.

Our family sends its love at Christmas.

Jamez Chang

2 Comments
  1. Nice peom! Thanks/gracias.

  2. Jay Jang permalink

    Lots of pathos and gravity in this poem. Awesome job!

Leave a Reply

